LockDown Browser prevents cheating during proctored exams in Blackboard Learn (Original and Ultra experiences), by locking down the student's device.
LockDown Browser® is a custom browser that locks down the testing environment within a learning management system. Used at over 2000 higher educational institutions, LockDown Browser is the “gold standard” for securing online exams in classrooms or proctored environments.
How LockDown Browser Works
- Assessments are displayed full-screen and cannot be minimized
- Browser menu and toolbar options are removed, except for Back, Forward, Refresh and Stop
- Prevents access to other applications including messaging, screen-sharing, virtual machines, and remote desktops
- Printing and screen capture functions are disabled
- Copying and pasting anything to or from an assessment is prevented
- Right-click menu options, function keys, keyboard shortcuts and task switching are disabled
- An assessment cannot be exited until the student submits it for grading
- Assessments that are set up for use with LockDown Browser cannot be accessed with other browsers
- Can be used on Windows, Mac, iPad, and Chromebook devices, allowing students to use their preferred device to take exams
Feature Parity in Ultra
This LTI+REST version of the Respondus LockDown Browser integration, when configured on a Learn Ultra environment, provides the same functionality as the Building Block version of the LockDown Browser integration - with one added benefit:
When using the LTI+REST version of the Respondus LockDown Browser integration in Learn Ultra courses, students do not need to leave their Blackboard course to initiate a test configured with LockDown Browser. Instead, when students click the "Begin Assessment" link from within their Learn Ultra course, the locally installed LockDown application automatically loads, and directly launches into the test submission process without any additional steps or authentications.